ASEAN Agreement on the Establishment of the ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity

ACB Headquarters in Los Baños, Laguna (Photo Source: PEMSEA)

This Agreement is for the establishment and initial operation of the ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity (ACB) arising from the ASEAN Regional Centre for Biodiversity Conservation, a five-year project funded by the European Union. The ACB is an intergovernmental regional center of excellence that facilitates regional and global cooperation on the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity. It serves the biodiversity management needs of the ten ASEAN member states through capacity building and trainings, research funding, database development and management.
Eight ASEAN members have ratified the ACB Agreement: Brunei Darussalam, Lao PDR, Philippines, Singapore, Viet Nam and Myanmar, Thailand and the latest in 2013 is Malaysia.
Focal Office:
Biodiversity Management Bureau (BMB)
Date ratified 2009 ; Date launched September 27, 2005
Focal Persons:
High Level
       Undersecretary for Staff Bureaus
       Department of Environment and Natural Resources
       Tel. Nos. - (632) 926 1004 / 928 4969 / 929 6626 Local 2021

       DENR - Biodiversity Management Bureau
       Telefax. No. - (632) 920 4417
       Email - /
The ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity (ACB) is hosted by the Philippines through the Host Country Agreement signed on 8 August 2006 between the Philippine government and the ACB and ratified by the Philippine Senate in 2009. The Philippine Government provides at its own cost, premises, operational facilities and other facilities needed for the operations of the Centre. The Agreement is to be reviewed at least every five years by the Member Countries to the Agreement.

The ACB is mandated to "facilitate cooperation and coordination among the ASEAN Member States and with relevant national government, regional and international organizations on the conservation and sustainable use of biological diversity and the fair and equitable sharing of benefits arising from the use of such biodiversity in the ASEAN region."

The ACB also acts as the Secretariat of the ASEAN Heritage Parks (AHP) Programme, a flagship program of the ASEAN. The AHPs are protected areas of high conservation importance, preserving a complete spectrum of representative ecosystems of the ASEAN region. To date, there are 37 AHPs, including the following Philippine Protected Areas: Mt. Apo (Davao), Mts. Iglit-Baco (Mindoro), Mt. Malindang (Misamis Occidental), Mt. Kitanglad (Bukidnon), Mt. Makiling Forest Reserve (Laguna), Tubbataha Reef National Park (Palawan), Mt. Hamiguitan (Davao Oriental) and Mount Timpoong-Hibok-Hibok Natural Monument.
Sources / Relevant Links:


The 25th Meeting of the ASEAN Working Group on Nature Conservation and Biodiversity (AWGNCB) requested ACB and the ASEAN Secretariat to closely liase with Indonesia on the ratification by Indonesia of the ACB Establishment Agreement. The Meeting also requested ACB to revise the proposed 11th ACB Annual Work Plan and draft the ACB Strategic Plan 2016–2020 for further consideration by the ACB Governing Board and ASEAN Senior Officials on the Environment (ASOEN).
This Page was updated on 03 February 2017 and will be updated on 03 May 2017
» Back