Coral Triangle Initiative (CTI)

Beach clean-up around Dumanquillas Bay, Zamboanga Pensinsula in celebration of Coral triangle Day, 9 June 2015 (Photo credit: BMB)

The Coral Triangle Initiative on Coral Reefs, Fisheries and Food Security (CTI-CFF) is a multilateral partnership of six countries -Indonesia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Solomon Islands and Timor-Leste also known as the "CT6", the CTI-CFF was formed in 2007 to address the urgent threats being faced by the coastal and marine resources of one of the most biologically diverse and ecologically rich regions on earth.
Focal Office:
Biodiversity Management Bureau (BMB)
Formally launched May 15, 2009
Focal Persons:
High Level
       OIC - Undersecretary for Policy and Planning
       Department of Environment and Natural Resources
       Tel. Nos. - (632) 926 2567 / 928 1205

Philippine CTI National Coordinating Committee
       DENR - Biodiversity Management Bureau
       Telefax No.: (632) 920 4417
       Email: /
The CTI National Plan of Action is aligned with the Regional Plan of Action (RPoA) which has five goals:
1) Effective management of Designated Priority Seascapes
2) Full application of Ecosystem Approach to Management of Fisheries (EAFM) and other marine resources
3) Establishment and effective management of Marine Protected Areas (MPAs)
4) Achievement of climate change adaptation measures 
5) Improvement in threatened species status
Policy Issuances:
Sources / Relevant Links:


1) Submitted State of the Philippine Coral Triangle Report (published by ADB, May 2014)
2) Working Groups established
       2.a. Financial Resources
       2.b. Coordination Mechanism
       2.c. Ecosystem Approach to Fisheries Management (TWG)
       2.d. Marine Protected Area (TWG)
3) Published a handbook on the Agreement on the Establishment of the Regional Secretariat of the CTI-CFF as the main reference for the organizational rules and procedures. 
This Page was updated on 03 February 2017 and will be updated on 03 May 2017
» Back