APEC Experts Group on Illegal Logging and Associated Trade (EGILAT)

APEC EGILAT in Cebu City, 22 August 2015 (Photo source: Forest Policy Section, FMB)

The Experts Group on Illegal Logging and Associated Trade (EGILAT) is a new body within APEC under the SOM Steering Committee on Economic and Technical Cooperation. EGILAT's mission is to foster sustainable economic growth in the Asia-Pacific region by enhancing the efforts of member economies to take concrete steps to combat illegal logging and associated trade and promote trade in legally harvested forest products.

EGILAT was established in 2011 in response to commitments made by APEC Leaders in 2010, and under direction of APEC ministers responsible for trade in 2011.

The first meeting of APEC EGILAT was held in Moscow on 9-10 February 2012. The meeting timetable follows the APEC program for the first and third SOM in each year.

The Experts Group meets twice a year.
Focal Office:
Forest Management Bureau (FMB)
Date Launched:
Focal Persons:
High Level
       Undersecretary for Staff Bureaus
       Department of Environment and Natural Resources
       Tel. Nos. - (632) 926 1004 / 928 4969 / 929 6626 Local 2021

Technical Representative
       DENR - Forest Management Bureau
       Tel. Nos. - (632) 928 9313 / 927 4788

       FOR. RAUL M. BRIZ
       Chief, Forest Protection Section, Forest Resources Conservation Division
       DENR - Forest Management Bureau
       Tel. Nos. - (632) 927 2491 / 928 2891
Leaders committed to implement appropriate measures to prohibit trade in illegally harvested forest products and undertake additional activities to combat illegal logging and associated trade and to provide a mechanism for effective information sharing in promoting legal trade of timber and other forest products. On 8 October 2013 in Bali, APEC Foreign and Trade Ministers reaffirmed their strong commitment to increase forest cover in the APEC region by 20 million hectares by 2020 as outlined by APEC Leaders in 2007.
Sources / Relevant Links:


This Page was updated on 27 March 2018 and will be updated on 27 July 2018
» Back