Kyoto Protocol

Secretary Ramon J.P. Paje delivering the Philippine Statement at the Joint High Level Segment (HLS) of the COP and CMP 21, Le Bourget, Paris, France on 8 December 2015. (Photo credit: FMB)

The Kyoto Protocol is an international treaty under the UNFCCC. Adopted in 1997, the protocol commits 43 Annex I countries to limit their greenhouse gas emissions for the period 2008-2012 below or equal to the level of their emissions in 1990. By 2012, the Doha Amendment to the protocol was proposed to extend the protocol to a second commitment period for 2013-2020. However, only 37 countries have committed to binding targets.
Focal Office:
Environmental Management Bureau (EMB)
Date Ratified:
November 20, 2003
Focal Persons:
High Level
       Undersecretary for Climate Change Service and Mining Concerns
       Department of Environment and Natural Resources
       Tel. No. - (632) 928 1208 / 926 2672
Policy Issuances:
Sources / Relevant Links:


Binding targets for Kyoto Protocol are applicable only to Annex I (developed countries), and will end in 2020. 
This Page was updated on 06 June 2018 and will be updated on 06 August 2018
» Back