Montreal Protocol

EMB Assistant Director Dr. Eva S. Ocfemia of at the 37th Meeting of the Open-Ended Working Group (OEWG 37) of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol, 4 April 2016, Geneva Switzerland (Photo credit: IISD/MikeMuzurakis

The Montreal Protocol on Substances That Deplete the Ozone Layer is a landmark international agreement designed to protect the stratospheric ozone layer from depletion due to ozone (O3) reaction with halogenated hydrocarbons.
Focal Office:
Environmental Management Bureau (EMB)
Date Ratified:
July 17, 1991
Focal Persons:
National Coordinator fpr ODS Phase-out Program
       National Coordinator ODS Phase-out Program
       Department of Environment and Natural Resources
       Tel. Nos. - (632) 925 2327, (632) 926 2672

       DENR - Environmental Management Bureau
       Tel. No. - (632) 920 2246
       Email -

National Ozone Units Focal Point
       Program Manager, Philippine Ozone Desk
       DENR - Environmental Management Bureau
       Tel. No. - (632) 928 4696
       Email -
The treaty calls for the phase out of Ozone Depleting Substances (ODS) and provides a timetable on the ban and elimination of their production. The treaty provides a timetable on the phase-out of ODS, taking into consideration the allowance for developing countries (Article 5) to delay their compliance with the prescribed control measures by ten years. 

Parties to the Protocol are required to report annually on production and consumption of ozone depleting substances.
Policy Issuances:
Sources / Relevant Links:


The Philippines, through the Philippine Ozone Desk of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources is currently undertaking the following projects to realize the chlorofluorocarbons (CFC) phase-out in the country:
1. The Institutional Strengthening Project (ISP)
2. Methyl Bromide Phase-out Strategy Formulation
3. National CFC Phase-out Plan
4. Philippine Chillers Energy Efficiency Project (PCEEP)
5. ODS - Institutional Strengthening Project Phase IX
6. HCFC Phase-out Management Plan Stage 1 and 2

The DENR through the EMB has already completed the ban on five of the six groups of Ozone Depleting Substances (ODS) namely: chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs), halons, carbon tetrachloride (CTC), methyl chloroform and methyl bromide (non-quarantine pre-shipment or non-QPS). The remaining group of the ODS to be phased out is hydrochlorofluorocarbons or HCFCs. HCFC-141b, widely used as a blowing agent, is the first species of HCFCs to be phased-out in the country because it has the highest ozone-depleting potential (ODP).

In 2004, the Philippines released a Chemical Control Order (CCO) for the phase-out of ODS. It is expected that 97.5% of HCFC blends have been prohibited by 2030.
This Page was updated on 06 June 2018 and will be updated on 06 August 2018
» Back