Brunei Darussalam–IndonesiaMalaysiaPhilippines - East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA)

11th BIMP-EAGA Summit, 28 April 2015, Langkawi, Kedah, Malaysia (Photo source: Bernama Images)

The Brunei DarussalamIndonesiaMalaysiaPhilippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) was formed by the four governments in March 1994 with the goal of increasing trade, investment, and tourism in the region. BIMP-EAGA comprises Palawan and Mindanao in the Philippines; the Sultanate of Brunei Darussalam; ten provinces of Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Maluku, and Irian Jaya in Indonesia; and the states of Sabah and Sarawak and the Federal Territory of Labuan in Malaysia. BIMP-EAGA aims to realize sustainable economic development in part by coordinating the management of ecosystems and common resources in Strategic Pillar 4.

The other Strategic Pillars which were selected to focus sectoral initiatives are: 1 - Enhanced connectivity within BIMP-EAGA as well as other regions outside, 2 - Establishing BIMP-EAGA as the food basket for ASEAN and the rest of Asia, and 3 - Promoting BIMP-EAGA as a premier regional tourism destination.
Focal Office:
DENR Central Office
Launched March 1994
Focal Persons:
High Level
       Undersecretary for Staff Bureaus
       Department of Environment and Natural Resources
       Tel. Nos. - (632) 926 1004 / 928 4969 / 929 6626 Local 2021

DENR Deputy Head of BIMP-EAGA
       Regional Director
       DENR Region XI
       Tel. Nos. - (6382) 233 2779 / 234 5599 / 234 0811
The fourth strategic pillar in the BIMP-EAGA Blueprint is cooperation in sustainable development and environmental management in the subregion. The focus of cooperation in the environment consists of the following components:
(i) sustainable management of critical ecosystems,
(ii) climate change adaptation and mitigation,
(iii) clean and green production technologies,
(iv) addressing transboundary issues, and
(v) environment mainstreaming.
Policy Issuances:
Proclamation No. 167, s. 2002 Declaring the week of March 24-31, 2002 and every year thereafter as BIMP-EAGA week.
Sources / Relevant Links:


The BIMP-EAGA Implementation Blueprint 2012-2016 "Component 1: "Sustainable Management of Critical Subregional Ecosystems" describes ADB supported projects in the environment strategic pillar.

During the 11th BIMP-EAGA Summit held on 28 April 2015 in Langkawi, Kedah, Malaysia, the attendees in their joint statement said: "We reaffirm our determination to mitigate the adverse impacts of climate change in the BIMP-EAGA subregion. We express our full support for the development and implementation of a capacity building program for local governments and communities on climate change mitigation and adaptation of best practices."

At the 4th Environment Cluster Meeting, the Philippines, as the lead country on "Building Local Community Resiliency in BIMP-EAGA for Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation," presented the revised project proposal on climate change incorporating comments during the 3rd meeting. The three major components of the study are: watershed characterization, vulnerability assessment, and interventions for community resilience. Two cross-cutting subprojects are the establishment of a resource center for information sharing and strengthening single point of contact.

For clean and green production technologies, the e-waste study "Electrical and electronic waste in the Philippines" was started in June 2015. There is also a completed inventory of recyclers in the Philippines (P-EAGA).

On natural resources management, the DENR, Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority (TIEZA) and Department of Tourism are collaborating to complement efforts for Turtle Conservation and Ecotourism Development in the Turtle Island Heritage Protected Area (TIHPA).
This Page was updated on 25 January 2017 and will be updated on 25 April 2017
» Back